SUBSCRIBE

Breaking News on Supplements & Nutrition - North AmericaEU edition

Top Headlines

NBTY director of nutrition research: Probiotic stakeholders need to come together to fill the gaps

There are significant gaps in the science supporting probiotics, and industry and academia must come together to contribute to the understanding of probiotics, says Dr Susan Mitmesser, Director of Nutrition Research at NBTY Inc.

Specialty positioning helps insulate suppliers from soft spot in sales of calcium supplements

Dr Oz giveth and he taketh away. That seems to be the recent message in the calcium space, where sales of the mineral have staggered under negative mentions by the good doctor and questions in the broader medical community about how much calcium is a good thing. But the effect...

NEW DATE: NutraIngredients-USA’s View from the Aisles Forum: The retailers' perspective

Due to an unexpected scheduling conflict, the NutraIngredients-USA View from the Aisles Forum will be taking place on Wednesday May 6th (instead of April 29th). The broadcasting time remains the same: 11am EDT - 10am CDT – 8am PDT.

Probiotic ice cream may boost oral health for kids

Consuming a functional ice cream formulated with Bifidobacterium lactis Bb-12 and Lactobacillus acidophilus La-5 may cut levels of caries-causing bacteria in the mouth, says a new study from India.

Science short

Herbal blend shows body fat reduction potential:Study

A botanical blend has been shown to reduce body fat reduction by greater than 5% compared to placebo in a study published in the Journal of Functional Foods.

News in brief

Ex-IPA chief takes business development role at US firm

Ex-International Probiotics Association (IPA) director general Ioannis Misopoulos has taken a business development role at Michigan-based probiotics manufacturer, Daily Body Restore.