Dietary Supplement Caucus officially registered in the 116th Congress

By Adi Menayang

- Last updated on GMT

Getty Images / Tanarch
Getty Images / Tanarch

Related tags Congress

A Dietary Supplement Caucus has officially been registered in the 116th Congress, with the goal of enhancing “Congressional attention to the role of supplements in health promotion, disease prevention, and address the regulation of the supplement industry.”

Co-chairs of the Dietary Supplement Caucus, according to an official letter submitted to the Committee on House Administration, are Senators Tim Scott (R-SC) and Martin Heinrich (D-NM), as well as representatives John Curtis (R-UT), Tony Cardenas (D-CA), and Andy Harris, MD (R-MD).

According to the letter, the caucus will serve as an “informal, bipartisan group of members to facilitate discussion among lawmakers about the benefits of dietary supplements, provide tips and insights for better health and wellness, and to promote research into the health care savings these products provide.”

A one-pager of the Dietary Supplement Caucus, supplied to NutraIngredients-USA by the trade group Council for Responsible Nutrition, explains that “educational briefings will be held throughout the year with nationally recognized authors, speakers, and authorities on nutrition, health and wellness brought in to expound on health models and provide tips and insights for better health and wellness, including the use of dietary supplements.”

It also included a full list of the Dietary Supplement Caucus Members:

U.S. Senate:

  • Sen. Marsha Blackburn, Tennessee
  • Sen. John Boozman, Arkansas
  • Sen. Tom Cotton, Arkansas
  • Sen. Tammy Duckworth, Illinois
  • Sen. Martin Heinrich, New Mexico
  • Sen. Tim Scott, South Carolina
  • Sen. Kyrsten Sinema, Arizona

U.S. House of Representatives:

  • Rep. Mark Amodei (NV-02)
  • Rep. Jack Bergman (MI-01)
  • Rep. Rob Bishop (UT-01)
  • Rep. Julia Brownley (CA-26)
  • Rep. Tony Cárdenas (CA-29)
  • Rep. Lou Correa (CA-46)
  • Rep. John Curtis (UT-03)
  • Rep. Peter DeFazio (OR-04)
  • Rep. Jeff Duncan (SC-03)
  • Rep. Brett Guthrie (KY-02)
  • Rep. Andy Harris (MD-01)
  • Rep. Bill Huizenga (MI-02)
  • Rep. Derek Kilmer (WA-06)
  • Rep. Ron Kind (WI-03)
  • Rep. Adam Kinzinger (IL-16)
  • Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08)
  • Rep. Ann McLane Kuster (NH-02)
  • Rep. Ted Lieu (CA-33)
  • Rep. Ben Ray Luján (NM-03)
  • Rep. John Moolenaar (MI-04)
  • Rep. Alex Mooney (WV-02)
  • Rep. Ralph Norman (SC-05)
  • Rep. Frank Pallone (NJ-06)
  • Rep. Mike Rogers (AL-03)
  • Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger (MD-02)
  • Rep. Brad Sherman (CA-30)
  • Rep. Chris Stewart (UT-02)
  • Rep. Fred Upton (MI-06)
  • Rep. Tim Walberg (MI-07)

Related news

Follow us


View more